A Divergence from Adolescence

Okay, I know I promised whatever lone reader is out there that I would continue my wise monologue on the nature of adolescence (I’m sure your breath is bated), but I have to take a short hiatus to comment on a couple of the former adolescents in my life.

For those of you who do not yet have the immeasurable joy of observing the fruits of your child-rearing labor, let me assure you that adult children can been a tremendous delight. I just finished reading posts on the respective blogs of my #1 son and his lovely wife. What clear-thinking, independent adults they both are! Of course, they do see some things differently than I do. But isn’t that okay? Wasn’t that the goal of all those years of work and worry–to produce self-directed, society-contributing adults (who no longer live at home)?

Advice to parent of a pre-adolescent: Do your job, pray a lot, listen more, and hang in there. Then let it go. You might be surprised what they’re capable of.

Leave a Reply

